Gray Goose is Blue.

“I’m blue.” Goose said, as he climbed out of bed.
Of course, he wasn’t. He was gray, like the day.
He was only blue on the inside of his head,
but some days, that’s enough.

He pulled on a robe and tied the sash tight.
For breakfast, in the fridge, there was only a smidge
of milk left. He would have to go out, despite
his mood which was foul.

“Oh, yuck!” He exclaimed, as the rain began to pour.
He hunched his head and would have run, not for fun,
but for cover, but he needed to get to the store.
Milk is important.

With his head hunched down, Goose couldn’t see a thing
so he walked right into Dog, and got him sog-
-gy, which just figured.  It was the kind of day that can bring
out the bad sort of luck.

“My! You’re all wet!” Dog observed of Goose,
rather obviously Goose thought. But, Dog, a swell fella, held his umbrella
over Goose while they walked.  Watching his chum, Dog began to deduce
the sort of day Goose was having.

They walked to the store and turned to head back
before Goose thought to ask why Dog had been out in the wet. “Don’t fret,”
said Dog, “but I haven’t had breakfast. I found that I lack-
-ed the necessary ingredients.

Goose felt rather bad. Here he had been feeling sorry and blue,
and Dog had been with him in the cold, but Dog, good as gold,
hadn’t complained. “Come on in,” said Goose, “I have enough for two,
and, I’d love to have the company.”

And, of course, Dog accepted, he was hungry, and understood
that when you’re blue in the head it’s better to be with a friend, who’ll lend
you a smile when you’re out of your own.  Besides he would
rather stay, as he’d woken up feeling rather blue himself.

My friend, Chris, suggested that I should write and illustrate children’s books. I think I’ll see if I can put together some illustrations for this. I wrote it over the course of about an hour after I put Fiona to bed. Constructive criticism welcomed!

7 thoughts on “Gray Goose is Blue.

      • Your daughter sounds smart so that’s not surprising lol. I guess it would depend on the specific age group you’re trying to reach… I’ve heard that’s important when writing children’s books, or any books for that matter. Writing for a general, who cares who reads it, audience doesn’t usually pan out as well as “I want to write for teens.” or “I want to write a story for 2-3 year olds”. Supposedly. 🙂

  1. Huzzah!

    This was very fun. We have been having very gray and soggy weather this morning, and I can totally picture the whole story in detail. What kind of Dog are you thinking of?

    I love the meter of the first two stansas. The rhyme-scheme held true even if the tempo changed a bit. It might be possible to tighten it over all, or not. As a one page poem, that might matter, in a children’s book, no so much, as each stansa would get it’s own page.

    Given the rain, and your talents, are you thinking water color illustrations?

    • I can’t talk about the illustrations until I do them, I have enough anxiety about this stuff that if I start talking about them I won’t be able to do them. So, if it’s going to get finished you can’t try to pry that stuff out of me!!!!

      On the meter, you’re right that it started to lengthen towards the end. I’ll give it a couple of weeks, then see if I can tighten it up. If I try to do it without waiting I’ll probably just delete the whole thing in a fit of “This is just pure crap! Burn it with FIRE!” that I get when reviewing my own work.

  2. I like it. And I like having the more detailed language and ideas. My brother and I always ended up reading over our age level, because everything designed for kids was boring. The few tales we did love were those that had more meaning to them and made you think but were still fun…which I see this story going for.

    It’s kind of way Mr. Rogers was so popular and actually controversial when his show came out. He believed kids could handle tougher topics and more than what most kids shows gave them at the time. He talked about family members dying and dealing with grief, about feeling sad and how to identify why, and just so many things. I remember being little and watching his show and being grateful that someone else wasn’t just treating me like I couldn’t handle things…anyways. I really like the story. Good luck on the illustrations. You’ll do wonderful. 🙂

    • Mr Rogers was wonderful. I remember being drawn to his gentle quietness when I was little. It was so much easier for me to process everything in his peaceful calm than in the bright colors and noises of everything else.

      I’m finding that Fiona is having that problem with needing more advanced language, but still needing shorter stories. She has a two-year-old attention span, but an advanced vocabulary and understanding. It’s hard to find books that meet that need.

Talk to me, Baby!

