Someday I’ll remember.

So, I’ve been having two ongoing, frustrating problems with my daughter. The first is that she wants my constant involvement in all of her activities. The second is that she wants to play Angry Birds 100% of the time. I’ve been trying to set limits on these things and trying to get her to do things on her own, but it’s been a constant, daily struggle.

Today, I actually tried the obvious.

I explained my reasons to her. I keep forgetting how amazingly smart children are if you just give them credit for it. I sat down with her and told her that, “Playing with toys makes your brain work. Playing with Angry Birds doesn’t. So, you have to play with toys so your brain can grow big and strong. And you have to play by yourself so that you can learn how to do things and make choices by your self. So that you can be independent and creative! And those are really good things to be!”

Amazing. She got up, went over to her toys and started playing with them. Now granted she was playing that the pig was frustrated that the Llama wouldn’t do the dance the way the pig wanted, but she was playing on her own!

Stop. Listen. Use you words. Someday, I’ll remember to do this without waiting to feel frustrated…

One thought on “Someday I’ll remember.

  1. Your kid is amazingly smart for sure. Can’t wait to see y’all again. And I think it’ll be interesting to see how Leah and Fiona get along now.

    Oakley and Leah are so funny to watch together.

Talk to me, Baby!

