A little lost

If you find this you might figure that I got a little lost.
Between the scientist and poet there’s really not a lot
that should put me in the focus of a lens that seems to think
that the coolest thing about me is the coffee that I drink

I’m writing you this letter so that maybe you can know
that I really do much better when I’ve got something to show,
and the truth is that I’ve really spent too much time in these four walls
and I’m playing tiny dinosaurs and watching evening fall

and I’m waiting for the hours that come after bath and bed
when I get to be a person and I’m not stuck in my head,
ever wishing, ever dreaming of the girl I was back when,
when my own needs were all I had to worry over. Then

I recall the purpose and the love and all the joy
that come from playing dinosaurs and dress up and with toys.
And it’s plain to me that, while I might have got little lost, that
views are quite spectacular when I take the time to look
and I ought really ought to go ‘fore I write a frickin’ book.

2 thoughts on “A little lost

  1. The last stanza of this annoys me. Let’s try again.

    I recall the purpose and the love and all the joy
    that come from playing dinosaurs and dress up and with toys.
    And it’s plain to me that, while I might have got little lost,
    that the path is rather pretty and the journey’s worth the cost.

    Better… :-/

  2. And it’s plain to me that, while I might have got A little lost,

    I like it though…it’s not that you’re physically lost, but that the YOU in you is obsured.

Talk to me, Baby!

