Am I insulted or amused? I’m not sure…

This afternoon, I took Fiona to the library to change out her books. We do this at least once a week to prevent me from losing my, admittedly weak, grasp on my sanity and piling all 15 of the books that I’ve read (at least 20 times each) this week in the middle of my living room, lighting them ablaze and dancing around the pyre, while chanting, “Never again! Ha! I’ll never read it again! Ha! Ha Ha! Ha!”

Yes, well, right, where were we. Yes. Exchanging books. Right.

Anyhow. We were exchanging books, and a woman walked up to me and asked if I wanted to attend a parenting seminar, right that second, with childcare provided. Now, on one hand I’m not sure if I should be insulted or not.

Do I look like the kind of woman who direly needs parenting intervention? Maybe I did today. I had been out of the house since 9 a.m., had taken Fiona swimming, had spent an hour on the elliptical, had gone to the garden to water – where we had been given the chance to pick and eat strawberries. Fiona was suntanned and berry stained and I (might) have been looking a little frazzled. Maybe.

On the other hand, I’m a friendly, optimistic person, so I said that I didn’t have time today, but asked what kind of a parenting seminar it was. As it turns out there is a positive parenting group that meets in the library, every Friday afternoon, with free childcare provided.

Okay, so, I’m not sure if I’m amused or insulted, but next week I’m there. That sounds like a pretty good idea to me. I’m always looking for new ways of handling things and am definitely looking for new Mommy friends. This could be a good opportunity for both.

I guess, I’m not amused or insulted. I’m interested.

3 thoughts on “Am I insulted or amused? I’m not sure…

  1. Um, speaking on behalf of the lady (who was not me, so I have no right) it is extremely difficult to know how to approach this, especially when you just want someone to turn up to the event you’ve worked so hard on, anyone! I work in a library.

    Once we had some people visiting to promote their numeracy and literacy programme, my husband popped in to drop off my lunch. He phoned me when he got home (laughing fortunately) asking what was going on. Apparently as he left he was approached by a lady who said. ‘Would you like to learn how to read?’ with a bright smile. My manager almost sobbed when I told her.

  2. Oh my gosh, please don’t be insulted. That’s exactly what I was thinking–what your previous commenter said–that the woman probably just wanted to have someone show up at her event. And, I think you’re wise(and game! go you!) to check it out. Please post more about your experience!

Talk to me, Baby!

