PSA: Stay Home!

Every once in a while, I find myself very annoyed with the world. Today is that kind of day. Maybe it’s the total lack of sleep. Maybe it’s the not having left the house in nearly three days. Maybe it’s soundtrack of whining to which I am being subjected. Regardless of the source, I am cranky today.

I’m angry at people who think it’s okay to take their sick kids places. If your kid is sick, stay home! End of story.

Last night was a little better, we woke up every couple of hours because of her incredibly stuffy little nose, instead of me staying up between 1 a.m. and 3 a.m. to feed her Advil and wipe her forehead with wet wash cloths until her fever came down. I’m pretty calm about illness, but once a fever hits 103 and is still trying to climb, I start to get nervous.

See, folks, unlike some of you, I stay home when my child is sick. So, for the last three days I’ve been cooped up. I’m not getting exercise and I’m not getting to do anything. Every time I try to do anything useful, I’m interrupted by a whining, cranky, sick child.

In fact, right now, she feels so miserable, that she’s whining and crying because my painting canvases are flat. She can’t, or won’t, explain what shape she wants them to be.

So, this is a Public Service Announcement. In case you missed it all the other times in your life that I know you’ve been told, if you, or you child, is sick, please, for the love of whatever you hold holy, stay at home. Do not come out until you’re well. Do not infect us with your yuck. Do not say to yourself that you’ll be a better parent if you get some exercise at the gym. Do not excuse yourself for taking them to the park by saying that the fresh air and sunshine will kill the germs. Do not take them to the grocery store unless there really is no other choice. (If you’re a single parent without a support network and you’re down to a single carton of applesauce, three beans, and a can of suspicious olives, you are excused. Or, if you lack Advil.)

If you do, knowingly, take your sick kid to public places and they make others sick, then you are morally responsible. You are making a very bad choice. If you do this repeatedly? You’re a bad person.  Your convenience doesn’t trump other people’s health.

So, the next time you, or your child, is sick, remember, even if you have to listen to whining about paintings being flat, stay home.

One thought on “PSA: Stay Home!

  1. I completely second that! I get sick so easily now and I can’t tell you how many times in the last few months co-workers have come in sick, just because they didn’t want to take a sick day. Some have even come in and admitted to still having a fever. And it never fails, every time someone comes in like that I instantly get sick. So I completely second this. PLEASE stay home if you are sick.

Talk to me, Baby!

