Ninja Brownies

BeetpicFiona is three. She likes sugar. She likes chocolate. Some days, she flat refuses to eat anything resembling nutritious food. She is actually pretty typical for a kid. She’d like a steady diet of gummies, cookies, and juice. Punctuated with the occasional piece of heavily sugared cinnamon toast.

With that in mind, I wish I had my camera in hand when I’d opened a can of beets yesterday.

She had been very excited to come help me cook and I think she thought that I was pulling a dirty trick. (Actually, she burst into tears and declared that she’d never eat those, they were yucky!)  Like I explained to her, though, beets are sneaky. Beets are the ninjas of the root vegetable world. They can hide in some pretty yummy food and you’d never even know that they’re there.

After all, that can of beets helped make this plate of brownies. BrownieBars

Given that she ate about four of them before I cut her off, I’d say that they’re yummy and that she will indeed eat beets.

(This recipe is one that I created.)

Ninja Brownies

Preheat oven to 350F.

  • 1 Can unsalted Beets (Drained throughly and mashed)
  • 1/3 Cup Crisco
  • 3/4 Cup granulated Sugar
  • 1/4 Cup packed brown Sugar
  • 2 c. flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 c. cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips

Grease and flour square baking pan. Set aside.

In a large bowl cream the Crisco and sugar. Blend in the beets and mix until well combined.

Without stirring, add the flour, salt, baking soda and cocoa powder. Mix until soft dough forms.

Add chocolate chips and mix until combined.

Flour your hands (so the dough doesn’t stick to them) and gently press the dough into the baking pan to form a level surface.

Bake for 20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

Cool, cut into squares, and watch with amusement as your family enjoys the nutritious addition of beets to their diet.

Talk to me, Baby!

